view all

NFA continues investor hunt

Absalom Iimbondi in action for Tigers. File photo

THE Namibia Football Association (NFA)'s interim secretary general Jochen Traut said Fifa and the Confederation of African Football (CAF) do not sponsor national football leagues.

Namibian cricketers in Lahore

Pikky Ya France, Nicol Loftie-Eaton, Mauritius Ngupita and Shaun Fouche. Photo: Twitter

FOUR Namibian cricketers arrived in Lahore, Pakistan, on Sunday to train under the skilled coaches at the Lahore Qalandars High Performance Centre (HPC).


view all

DJ Dreas heading to Rocking the Daisies

TOP Namibian DJ, Andreas Nambambi, aka DJ Dreas, will be performing at this year's Rocking the Daisies music and lifestyle festival, set to take place from 7 to 9 October in South Africa.

Getting the Pulse Racing


AWARD-WINNING artist, writer, film producer and director Micheal Kahorongo, also known as Micheal Pulse, has been faced with many obstacles over the years, but has kept moving towards achieving his dreams.

Miss Namibia, Miss Teen Namibia to be crowned


IT is pageant season again, as tonight Miss Teen Namibia will crown a new young beauty queen, replacing the reigning Alexis Swart and beginning her year of duty, in NBC's first live show since the pandemic brought events to a standstill in 2020.


view all

The Peter Principle


BEING SUBJECTED to the ineptness of staff at a Namibian Stock Exchange (NSX) listed commercial bank this week was a sobering experience.


View older polls

    Results so far:

      ECN urges residents to vote in Swakop by-election

      by Sophie Tendane

      Ciske Howard-Smith

      THE Electoral Commission of Namibia (ECN) has recruited 145 polling officials for the 26 fixed and three mobile polling station teams for the Swakopmund constituency by-election set for 12 August.

      In a statement released yesterday, ECN acting chief electoral and referenda officer Petrus Shaama urged voters to go out in numbers to exercise their democratic right.

      The vacancy arose in the constituency after the Independent Patriots for Change (IPC) expelled its former councillor Ciske Howard-Smith.

      “In reference to section 10 (1), ECN is obligated in terms of the law to conduct a by-election in that particular constituency within 90 days from the date the vacancy occurred,” Shaama said.

      Shaama said the names of the candidates have been duly nominated, with eight organisations taking part in the elections.

      The following candidates have been nominated for the post: Zerolda Dantu – United Democratic Front, Rodger Dausab – Namibia Economic Freedom Fighter, Louisa Kativa – IPC, Tangeni Musheko – Landless People's Movement, Williward Narib – Independent candidate, Lelanie Pascheka – Popular Democratic Movement, Helemia Salomon – Swapo Party of Namibia (Swapo) and Bernard von Seydlitz-Kurzbach – United People's Movement.

      “Face to face, digital platforms, posters and radio are some of the mediums ECN employed to ensure it reaches the electorate in the constituency,” he said.

      Shaama said ECN has completed the bidding process for the printing of ballot papers, and the bid was awarded to Solitaire Press. The verification of the sample ballot papers by authorised representatives has been successfully concluded.

      “All sensitive material will be dispatched under strict security and escort of the Namibian Police within the constituency,” he said.

      Shaama said a voter's card is used to identify a registered voter during an election process.

      “In the event that a voter has lost or damaged their voter's card, the voter can apply for a duplicate voter's card for the Swakopmund constituency [by-election]. The issuance of duplicate voter's cards will take place from 8 August 2022,” he said.

      Shaama added that the team will be deployed on 11 August for the commencement of the polls on 12 August.

      The number of registered voters was not revealed.

      Today's ePaper [click to subscribe]

      Most Viewed Articles



      view all